Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

Newbie questions on knots for backing, fly line, leader and tippet

Sorry, newbie, but I hope I can get a fesw things clarified.

I am new to fly fishing (going to Madison River in Montana in August). I have spent quite a bit of time on YouTube and the more I learn the more confused I am about the various knots and methods to attach portions of the line.

First, is the "backing" the same as the "fly line?"

If the "fly line" that came with my reel has a loop in it already, do I stay with that and attach it to the loop that is on the end of most leaders I see? Some seems to want to cut it off and do a nail knot instead?

Do I attach the leader to the tippet with a nail knot or a surgeon's knot?

Thanks for any help.

Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Skipii. First, and with respect, do not apologise for being new to the sport. We've all been there!
    No the 'backing' is not the same as the 'fly line'. The backing serves the dual purpose of filling out the reel and providing a foundation/bedding for the line to sit on the reel. Secondly it's there when you need it - if a big fish runs out all your fly-line and caries on running after that.
    Attaching all this is all important - not least on the 'chain is only as strong as its weakest link' principle. If you have loops in your fly line - I'd be inclined to match them with a loop (figure of eight knot is what I use) to face them. ie just loop to loop once you've created another loop in the next bit in the chain ..

Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews
    Henry,

Thanks for the kind reply. I think I have it down as starters:

Backing line attached to fly line with nail knot. Fly line attached to leader with perfection loop (using figure eight knot). Leader attached to tippet with nail knot (or surgeon's knot). Fly attached to tippet with double clinch knot.

If I have all that down, my next lesson is learning which weights lines go with what since the numbering systems don't seem to correlate.